VP Joe Biden, Howard Schultz, Scott Minerd to Receive 2016 Ripple of Hope AwardVP Joe Biden, Howard Schultz, Scott Minerd to Receive 2016 Ripple of Hope Award

(November 28, 2016 | New York) On Tuesday, December 6, Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights will present the Ripple of Hope Award to its 2016 class of honorees including United States Vice President Joe Biden; Starbucks Chairman, President and CEO, Howard Schultz; and Guggenheim Partners’ Chairman of Investments / Global Chief Investment Officer and Managing Partner, Scott Minerd at the New York Hilton Midtown in New York City.

Kevin Nealon, will feature stirring performances of the words and reflections of global Human Rights Defenders as interpreted by celebrated actors from stage and screen, including: Alan Alda, Alec Baldwin, Joy Behar, Harry Belafonte, Michael Bolton, Lorraine Bracco, Tim Daly, Danny DeVito, Trevor Donovan, Giancarlo Esposito, Danny Glover, Kelsey Grammer, Dennis Haysbert, Catherine Keener, Keegan-Michael Key, Tony Lo Bianco, Matthew Modine, Kate Mulgrew, Rosie Perez, Sullivan Stapleton, Alfre Woodard, and many more.

“At such a tumultuous and deeply divided time in our collective history, it has never been more imperative that we work together towards our goals of ensuring justice and the protection of human rights across the world,” said Kerry Kennedy, President of Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights. “Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights is proud to honor U.S. Vice President Joe Biden, Scott Minerd and Howard Schultz for their outstanding roles in supporting and amplifying these global efforts.”

Joe Biden, has devoted his life to public service and the betterment of society, with a focused dedication to human rights. A member of the Democratic Party, Biden represented Delaware as a United States Senator from 1973 until 2009, following his election to Vice President. He is an outspoken supporter and enactor of key social justice initiatives spanning the realms of public health, women’s rights, affirmative action, public education, civil rights, same-sex marriage, environmental protection, and more.

Howard Schultz, Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of Starbucks Coffee Company, has a made a longstanding commitment to civic responsibility and community services as a means of creating a strong culture in which purpose and profit are aligned missions. He has been widely recognized for his philanthropic efforts, including his work on educational initiatives aimed at fighting the AIDS epidemic, his promotion of responsible capitalism, and advocacy for ethics in business. Schultz is co-founder of the Schultz Family Foundation, which spearheads Onward Youth, promoting employment for young people with job training and skill building programs; and Onward Veterans, which supports post-9/11 military in successful transitions to civilian life.

In his role as Chairman of Investments and Global Chief Investment Officer, Guggenheim Partners’ Managing Partner Scott Minerd is dedicated to supporting global human rights and humanitarian causes. A longstanding supporter of RFK Human Rights, Minerd is driven by service and purpose in both his personal philanthropy and in his profession, and serves on the Federal Reserve Bank of New York’s Investor Advisory Committee on Financial Markets, and provides counsel on how the public and private sectors can better understand and mitigate risks. Minerd also works with the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) and is a contributing member of the World Economic Forum (WEF).

Cheryl Alston, Executive Director and CIO, Dallas Employee’s Retirement Fund; Joseph Boateng, CIO, Casey Family Programs; Gerald Chen-Young, Former VP & CIO, United Negro College Fund; Tom DiNapoli, New York State Comptroller;Vicki Fuller, CIO & Deputy Comptroller, Office of the New York State Comptroller;Jeffrey Heil, CIO, Doris Duke Foundation; Meredith Jenkins, CIO, Trinity Church Wall Street; William Lee, CIO, New York Presbyterian Hospital; Kim Lew, VP & CIO, Carnegie Corporation of New York; Winston Ma, Managing Director, China Investment Capital; Seth Magaziner, Treasurer, State of Rhode Island; Arunma Oteh, VP & Treasurer, The World Bank; Scott Pittman, SVP & CIO, Mount Sinai Medical Center; Scott Stringer, Comptroller, New York City Office of the Comptroller; Ash Williams, Executive Director & CIO, Florida State Board of Administration; among others.

The Robert F. Kennedy Ripple of Hope Award recognizes leaders in government, business, and entertainment who are dedicated to social change. Honoring Robert Kennedy’s legacy, the organization focuses on human rights education, advocacy and litigation, engaging the business community in support of social good, and the mobilization of young community leaders in championing human rights. Past award recipients include: Secretary Hillary Rodham Clinton, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, President Bill Clinton, Bono, Congressman John Lewis; Tim Cook; Marianna Vardinoyannis;George Clooney, John Boyer, Niclas Matseke, and Tony Bennett and Robert De Niro.