2020: Newsy
“A Broken Trust”

2020 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards Winners

High School Journalism
Black Students Nearly Two Times as Likely to be Suspended as White Peers in the ICCSD
Iowa City High School’s The Little Hawk
Nina Lavezzo-Stecopoulos

College Journalism
State of Emergency
Carnegie-Knight News21, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
News21 Staff

Domestic Print
New York Times
Michael H. Keller, Gabriel J.X. Dance, Nellie Bowles, and Kholood Eid

International Print
The Afghanistan Papers
Washington Post
Craig Whitlock

Domestic Photography
One More Year on the Farm: A Minnesota Farm Family Fights to Save Its Land
Washington Post
Ricky Carioti

International Photography
Venezuela on the Edge
Associated Press
Rodrigo Abd

In the Dark: The Path Home
APM Reports
In the Dark Staff

New Media
Inside the Border Patrol
A.C. Thompson, Ginger Thompson, Melissa del Bosque, Jeff Ernsthausen, Robert Moore, Susan Schmidt, Maryam Jameel, Lucas Waldron, Katie Campbell, and Dara Lind

JD Crowe 2019 Work
Alabama Media Group
JD Crowe

International Television and Seigenthaler Prize
For Sama
FRONTLINE PBS / Channel 4 / ITN Productions

Domestic Television and Grand Prize
A Broken Trust
Maren Machles, Carrie Cochran, Angela Hill, Suzette Brewer, and the Broken Trust Team

For more information, read our full press release.