Robert F. Kennedy Book and Journalism Awards
Join us in Celebrating the 2021 Honorees


High School Print and New Voices for Justice Award
Bigoted Badges: How Hate and Violence are Embedded in Kentucky Law Enforcement Training
duPont Manual High School’s Manual RedEye
Satchel Walton, Cooper Walton, and Payton Carns

High School Broadcast
The Pandemic Program
Prosper High School’s Eagle Nation News
Grant Johnson, Kacey Boston, Cristina Folsom, and Maggie Hale 

College Journalism
Kids Imprisoned
Carnegie-Knight News21, Walter Cronkite School of Journalism and Mass Communication
News21 Staff

Domestic Print and Grand Prize
The Confederate Reckoning
USA TODAY Network in the South
Michael Anastasi and Mark Russell

International Print
Fruits of Labor
Associated Press
Margie Mason and Robin McDowell

Domestic Photography
We Keep Us Safe
VII Photo Agency
André Chung

International Photography
War Forces Thousands of Ethiopians Into Sudan
Associated Press
Nariman El-Mofty

Canary: The Washington Post Investigates
Washington Post
Amy Brittain, Reena Flores, and Bishop Sand

New Media
Gag Order: How Marine Corps Culture Silenced a Victim of Sexual Assault
The War Horse
Thomas Brennan, Kelly Kennedy, and Ben Kalin 

In/Vulnerable: Inequity in the Time of Pandemic
Reveal from The Center for Investigative Reporting
Reveal News Team

Domestic Television
16 and Recovering
MTV News
Steve Liss, Ben Hurvitz, Lily Neumeyer, and the team at MTV News

International Television and Seigenthaler Prize
Welcome to Chechnya
David France

Criminal Justice Reform Prize
Dying Inside
Peter Eisler, Jason Szep, Linda So, Grant Smith, Ned Parker, and the rest of the Reuters team

Unworthy Republic: The Dispossession of Native Americans and the Road to Indian Territory
W. W. Norton & Company
Claudio Saunt

2021 Robert F. Kennedy Book Award

The Robert F. Kennedy Book Award was founded in 1980 with the proceeds from Arthur M. Schlesinger, Jr.'s best-selling biography, Robert Kennedy and His Times

Each year, Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights presents an award to the book that, as Schlesinger said, "most faithfully and forcefully reflects Robert Kennedy’s purposes – his concern for the poor and the powerless, his struggle for honest and even-handed justice, his conviction that a decent society must assure all young people a fair chance, and his faith that a free democracy can act to remedy disparities of power and opportunity."

2021 Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards

Founded by the reporters who covered Robert F. Kennedy's historic 1968 presidential campaign, the Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards honor outstanding reporting on issues that reflect Robert Kennedy's concerns, including human rights, social justice, and the power of individual action in the United States and around the world. Entries should provide insights into the causes, conditions, and remedies of human rights violations and injustice, and critical analysis of relevant policies, programs, individual actions, and private endeavors that foster positive change.

The Robert F. Kennedy Journalism Awards are among the few in which winners are determined by their peers. Past winners include the Washington Post, National Public Radio, CBS's 60 Minutes, ABC's 20/20, and HBO.