2018 RFK Book and Journalism Award Winners

5/4/2018Press Release


URL Copied

May 3, 2018 | New York -- Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights celebrated World Press Freedom Day by announcing the winners of its 2018 Robert F. Kennedy Book & Journalism Awards. The winning book selection and first place winners in 13 categories as well as the Journalism Grand Prize winner and the John Seigenthaler Prize for Courage in Reporting will be honored at a ceremony on May 22 at 6:30 pm at the Newseum in Washington, D.C.

The 2018 Journalism Awards winners chronicled the experience of being a student of color in advanced high school classes, the epidemic of sexual harassment in media and entertainment and the increasing hostility to refugees in Europe. Their fearless exploration of controversial topics comes at a time of increasing government attacks on the press both in the United States and abroad.

The 2018 Book Awards honor Timothy Tyson for The Blood of Emmett Till and Peter Edelman with a 50th anniversary special recognition for Not a Crime to Be Poor.

Ethel Kennedy, Kerry Kennedy and Book Award Chair and emcee Michael Beschloss will present winners with their prizes.


“Journalists in the United States are under attack. Government officials have called reporters ‘enemies of the state’ and ‘the enemy.’ Reporters have faced attempts to limit the free press and to delegitimize the role of facts in public life,” said Robert F. Kennedy Human Rights President Kerry Kennedy. “We are p