2022 Book and Journalism Awards Special Guest Presenters

Please join an inspiring line-up of special presenters as they announce this year’s award winners!

2022Kimberly Adams

Kimberly Adams is host and correspondent covering the intersection of politics and the economy for NPR’s Marketplace, Marketplace Morning Report and Marketplace Tech.

2022Michael Beschloss

Michael Beschloss is a historian specializing in the United States presidency. He has been a frequent commentator on the PBS NewsHour and is the NBC News Presidential Historian.

2022Dan Blackburn

Dan Blackburn is a veteran broadcast and print journalist with more than forty years of experience ranging from covering presidents to predators.

2022Douglas Brinkley

Douglas Brinkley is an author and the Katherine Tsanoff Brown Chair in Humanities and professor of history at Rice University. He is a history commentator for CNN and a contributing editor to Vanity Fair.

2022Margaret Engel

Margaret Engel directs the Alicia Patterson Journalism Foundation, which gives grants to journalists in the name of Alicia Patterson, the founder of Newsday.

2022Annette Gordon-Reed

Annette Gordon-Reed is an American historian and law professor. She is currently the Charles Warren Professor of American Legal History, Harvard Law School and Professor of History, Harvard University.

2022John Harwood

In 1991, Harwood joined the Wall Street Journal as a White House, Congressional and national political correspondent. He later wrote for the New York Times. In 2006 he became Chief Washington Correspondent for CNBC, and in 2020 joined CNN as White House correspondent.

2022Rory Kennedy

Rory Kennedy is an Academy Award-nominated, Primetime Emmy Award-winning documentary filmmaker. Kennedy’s work includes DOWNFALL: The Case Against Boeing (Netflix), Last Days in Vietnam (PBS), Ethel (HBO), and Take Every Wave (IFC), all of which premiered at the Sundance Film Festival.

2022Michael Lewis

Michael Lewis has published many New York Times bestselling books on various subjects. His most recent works are The Premonition, The Fifth Risk, The Undoing Project, Flash Boys, and The Big Short. Mr. Lewis is also a columnist for Bloomberg View and a contributing writer to Audible.

2022Jane Mayer

Jane Mayer has been a staff writer at The New Yorker since 1995. The magazine’s chief Washington correspondent, she covers politics, culture, and national security.

2022Ari Melber

Ari Melber is an attorney and journalist who is the host of MSNBC's The Beat with Ari Melber.

2022Craig Melvin

Craig Melvin is an award-winning news anchor on NBC News’ “TODAY,” a co-host of 3rd Hour TODAY, anchor of MSNBC's "Craig Melvin Reports," and a host of “Dateline.” His breaking news coverage and reporting appears across all NBC News and MSNBC platforms.

2022Soledad O'Brien

Soledad O’Brien is an award-winning documentarian, journalist, speaker, author, and philanthropist, who founded Soledad O’Brien Productions, a multi-platform media production company dedicated to telling empowering and authentic stories on a range of social issues.

2022Symone D. Sanders

Symone D. Sanders is a political strategist and commentator. She served as national press secretary for Democratic presidential candidate Bernie Sanders during his 2016 presidential campaign.

2022John Seigenthaler

John Seigenthaler is a former anchor and correspondent for NBC Nightly News.

2022Van Jones

Van Jones is widely known as a U.S. media personality, an entrepreneur and a world-class change maker.